You are here
Home > BPL:Bangladesh premier league

Bangladesh Premiere League(BPL),organized by BCB every year, is a domestic T20 competition which will be held in latter half of every year. Six teams have participated in the last BPL held.BCB is expected to add two more Franchises in the coming tournaments. Tournament have adapted round robin(double) to adjudge teams for the Playoffs. If we have six teams involved in the tournament. Each team would be playing 10 matches in their campaign. Comilla Victorians are the current Champions led by Mortaza. Dhaka Dynamites has been the most successful team with two titles up their sleeve. BPL was first held in 2012 ,won by Dhaka Gladiators.

BPL indights
BPL official logo

In the span of 4 tournaments, total of eight teams have involved so far

  • Dhaka Gladiators
  • Comilla Victorians
  • Barisal Bulls
  • Chittagong Viking
  • Sylhet Super stars
  • Rangapur Raiders
  • Duronto Rajshahi
  • Khulna royals Bengal
Year Winners Runners MOS
2012 Dhaka Gladiators Barisal Sakhib-ul-Hasan
2013 Dhaka Gladiators Chittagong Sakhib-ul-Hasan
2015 Comills Victorians Barisal Ashar Zaidi


Few Important Rules in BPL

  • A team should minimum consist of 16 players,coach and a physio
  • A team can have Maximun of 8 Foreign Players in their Squad
  • Two Uncapped players should be in playing Eleven(In IPL it is one)

Squad on Winnning team

Comilla Victorians: Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Shoaib Malik, Marlon Samuels, Ahmed Shehzad, Krishmar Santokie, Andre Russell, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lahiru Thirimanne, Darren Stevens, Imrul Kayes, Shuvagata Hom, Sanjamul Islam, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Ariful Haque, Mahmudul Hasan, Naeem Islam jnr, Abu Hider, Liton Das, Sunil Narine, Dhiman Ghosh.

Few Stats

Highest Run Scorer in history of BPL: Mushfiqur Rahim

Hishest Wicket taker- Kevon Cooper

Player who hit most no of sixes-Chris gayle

Player who played most Number of games- Mohammed Riyad

Costliest Franchise-Chittagong  Viking

Broad Cast Partners

  • Bangladesh-Channel9
  • India-Neo prime
  • Pak-Geo super

Only four out of nine internationally recognized stadiums in bangladesh have used so far.BCB also decided to chose not implement home-away game system.