You are here
Home > IPL

Indian Premiers League is T20 Tournament which will be held by BCCI every Year India.IPL in the Number 1 League among all the T20 leagues going around the globe followed by BIG BASH(Australia).IPL was first held in the year 2008, in which 8 teams have participated. Inaugural edition of IPL was won by Rajasthan Royals under the leadership of Shane warne. Till now, only one complete edition of IPL is held outside. South Africa hosted complete IPL2 which was won by Deccan Chargers under the leadership of Adam Gilchrist. IPL has changed the life of many cricketers.IPL helped many young and Anonymous cricketers to showcase their skills to the fans.


Though IPL is not the first T20 Competition held in India, It is the first of its kind in India to be recognised by ICC.BCCI has shelled huge money to players for not to join in ICL(organised by ZEE entertainments).In first years four India players were given Icon status. Sourav Ganguly(KKR), Sachin (Mumbai), Yuvraj Singh(Punjab),Rahul Dravid(RCB). MSD Dhoni was the most expensive player to player to participate in IPL01.He represented for Chennai super Kings ,which was owned India Cements.

SRH are the current title holders under the leader ship of David Warner.Ben Cutting was the man of the match in the final against RCB which was held at Bangalore. Virat Kohli was the Highest Run getter in this year of IPL.GL and KKR are other two teams which made to play offs.

A total of 13 teams Participated in all the 9 editions of IPL.

  • Chennai Super KINGS
  • Royal Challengers Banglore
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Rajasthan Royal
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Kings IX punjab
  • Kochi Tuskers Kerala
  • Pune Warriors
  • Deccan Chargers
  • Sun RIsers Hyderabad
  • Raising Pune Super Gaints
  • Gujarat Lions


  • Rajasthan Royals and CSK were banned for couple of due involvement in match fixing by some players or tram management. They are replaced by RSP and Gujarat Lions in this year.


LIST of IPL winners

Edition1 Rajasthan Royals
Edition2 Deccan Chargers
Edition3 Chennai Super Kings
Edition4 Chennai Super KIngs
Edition 5 Kolkata Knight riders
Edition6 Mumbai Indian
Edition 7 Kolkata Knight Riders
Edition8 Mumbai Indians
Edition9 SunRisers Hyderabad

Some Facts About IPL


  • RCB,DD and Punjab are the three teams which played all the IPL Edtions ,but didn’t win the title.
  • Virat Kohli is the Leading RUN Scores in IPL history.
  • Virat Kohli is only man to score 4 centuries in single IPL