You are here
Home > T20 cricket > Big Bash(BBL)

Big Bash League(BBL) is an Australian Domestic league held every year in the month of December.BBL is the second most popular league after Indian Premiere league(IPL).BBl will be held under the supervision of cricket Australia. Currently there are eight teamsĀ  from six cities. Till now no Indian Player has everĀ  played BBL. BBL was first conducted in the year 2011 and concluded five editions. Perth scorchers is the most successful team with 2 titles. MCG hosted final of latest Edition.

Current Big Bash Teams

  • Sydney Sixers
  • Sydney Thunder
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Melbourne Stars
  • Adelaide Strikers
  • Brisbane Heat
  • Hobart hurricanes
  • Perth Scorchers

Currently Sydney Thunder are the current title holders. Yesteryear they finished at the bottom of the table. Andre Russell and Shane Watson are the major factors for Sydney’s Victory. Shane Watson was adjudged as the man of the series.


Team Which haven’t won the Title

  • Melbourne stars
  • Melbourne Renegades
  • Hobart hurricanes
  • Adelaide strikers
  • Hobart Hurricanes.

WACA(home ground for Perth scorchers) has hosted more on number of finals than any other stadiums. In Big bash, Team which finished at the top of the table will have the leverage to hot the final.

Big Bash has introduced some of the most Successful T20 players. Few are

  • Chris Lynn
  • Ben Cutting(MOM in IPL final)

Micheal Klinger is the most Successful batsmen and skipper in the tournament. He scores 1267 runs inhis BBL career. Luke Wright hold the record highest runs in an innings by any batsmen. Ben laughlin is the leading wicket taker in history of BBL with 60 scalps.

Prominnent Inetrnatinol BBL players

  • Kevin Pieterson
  • Darren Sammy
  • Kumar Sangakara
  • Mahela Jayawardane
  • David Willey
  • Moen Ali
  • Andre Russell
  • Chris Gayle

Womens BBL
Women’s BBL was held last year in parallel with Men edition. From this year BBCI has cleared route Indian women players to participate in BBL.Haram Preet Kaur is the first Indian cricketer to sign a BBL contract. Few other cricketers are also in the pipeline